top of page
hydro web strip 2023.png
August 18-September 24, 2023
Presenting Sponsor:

Our hit production of this exciting new Cape Breton play and 5x Robert Merritt Award nominee is BACK in 2023!


It’s the summer of 1917. A teenage boy, Billy, is sent to work for the great inventor Alexander Graham Bell in Baddeck, Nova Scotia. Billy’s gotten into some bad habits and has other interests than working hard for the summer. Plus, the secret project in the boathouse seems much more interesting.  Mystery’s afoot, spies are lurking, and history is about to be made with Bell’s latest invention, the hydrofoil. Part coming of age, part high-spirited adventure story, and fun for the whole family, this new play brings to light a little-known chapter of Canadian history.

Content advisory: This production contains water-based haze and the sound of a gunshot. 

Running time: 1 hour 45 minutes including one 15-minute intermission.


"We were captivated from the get-go and awed by the utilization of a minimal set design and ability of cast to alternate their characters. We drove 5 hours to come and see this play and we were rewarded for our efforts. We will be back!" - rmacduff (TripAdvisor)

"The cast was amazing and the staging spectacular.  I couldn't believe how a few objects could be so successfully transformed into so much - I actually 'saw' the hydrofoil skimming across the water.  I got to meet Alexander Graham Bell and Casey Baldwin. For me, this was a gift.  I will play it around in my head for a long time to come.” - Eric Walters, author

"The acting was amazing and set design superbly inventive. This feel-good, riveting, quick moving story captured audience attention and imagination!" - Judith H.

"Our 8 and 12 year old enjoyed this along with the 40+ year olds. Some humour, mystery, fact and fiction with lots of action!" - nsshan (TripAdvisor)

5x 2022 Robert Merritt Award nominee for: Outstanding Independent Production, Outstanding New Nova Scotia Adaptation (Christy MacRae-Ziss), Outstanding Scenic Design (Karyn McCallum), Outstanding Lighting Design (Leigh Ann Vardy), Outstanding Sound Design (Jordan Palmer).


Jeremy Foot


Ryan Rogerson

Alexander Graham Bell


Ian Gilmore


Matt Lacas

Casey Baldwin/various

Christy MacRae-Ziss

Mrs. MacAulay/various/


Ron Jenkins


Karyn McCallum

Set Designer

Leigh Ann Vardy

Lighting Designer

Jordan Palmer

Sound Designer/TD

Emily Clegg

Costume Designer

Tim Yakimec

Stage Manager

bottom of page